Sæterhytten, or The Queens's Chalet, is open during the summer months as a Sunday café. Opening times are from 1200 - 1600, Sundays only. During the rest of the week the venue can be hired for private functions.
The Queen´s Chalet
The building started its unique history in 1851, when it was built as a Royal Bathing House for the then King and Queen of Norway. It was moored in the fjord just outside Oscarshall Summer Palace. Since 1862, when the building was moved ashore to a nearby hillside, the Queen´s Chalet has been a festive summer pavilion frequented by both Royals and the citizens of Oslo.
Following an extensive restoration process, the Queen´s Chalet re-opened in May 2011. We envisage that the venue will become a popular place for private functions such as weddings and christenings. In addition we hope the building can be used for various cultural activities, such as theatre plays and concerts. The maximum capacity is approximately 50 guests. The Queen´s Chalet lies in beautiful green surroundings at Bygdøy, with views towards the Oslo skyline.
Apart from the dining room with panoramic views of Oslo, the building consists of a small salon with an open fireplace, and an exhibition room detailing the exciting history of the Chalet. Outside there is also an octagonal music pavilion. The Queen´s Chalet has it´s own catering kitchen. The season lasts from the middle of April to the middle of October. Please contact us for further information.